Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » West Virginia » Charleston

West Virginia’s capital city, Charleston, is the seat of Kanawha County. In 1788, the first permanent settlement, Ft. Lee, was established by landowner Colonel George Clendenin. The city was named in honor of the Colonel’s father, Charles, and was originally two words, Charles Town. It was later changed, however, in order to lessen confusion about the Charles Town in the eastern part of the state, that one being named in honor of Charles Washington, George’s brother.

Regular Blogs