Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Virginia » Arlington

The census designated place called Arlington in the Commonwealth of Virginia has the same borders as does Arlington County. Because it is the second-largest principal city in the District of Columbia’s metropolitan area, it is frequently called simply “Arlington” or “Arlington, Virginia” by locals. The land now known as Arlington was donated to the federal government in 1801 by Virginia in order to become part of what the Constitution calls “Seat of the Government of the United States”, or what we know today as Washington, D.C. In 1846, Congress revamped the borders of the District and returned the land to the Commonwealth.

Regular Blogs