Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio

Named for Saint Anthony of Padua, the City of San Antonio is the county seat of Bexar County. In 1709, Father Antonio de Olivares visited the area and was bound and determined to found a mission and a civilian settlement where the city sits today. In 1716, he finally got approval from Spain. Construction of the Mision de San Antonio de Valero, also known as the Alamo, began in 1718, and thus the creation of the largest and most important town in Spanish Texas was built. It was the capital of the Mexican province of Tejas until the Texas Declaration of Independence and ensuing Texas Revolution in 1836. San Antonio is home to the Alamo and several other Spanish colonial missions, the River Walk, the Tower of the Americas, an numerous military installations, including Fort Sam Houston, Lackland Air Force Base, Camp Stanley, and Camp Bullis.

Regular Blogs