Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Tennessee » Murfreesboro

Murfreesboro, Tennessee is the seat of Rutherford County, having been established in 1811 for just that purpose. It was originally named Cannonsburgh, after Newton Cannon, a local politician, but was renamed in honor of Colonel Hardy Murfree, a Revolutionary War hero. It was the state capital from 1818 until 1826, at which time Nashville took its place.

Regular Blogs