Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » South Carolina » Conway

The horry County seat is Conway, South Carolina. It was founded in 1732 as Kings Town, but soon after its founding, the name was changed to Kingston. Many residents of the region fought in the American Revolutionary War, and once the war was over and independence won, the consensus was that they would toss the name of King George II out entirely and they renamed it Conwayborough in honor of General Robert Conway. In 1883, it was changed by decree of the General Assembly to simply Conway.

Regular Blogs