Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » South Carolina » Columbia

Columbia is the capital of the state of South Carolina and the seat of Richland County. Part of the city is in Lexington County. It was founded in 1786 specifically to be the state capital. There were two suggestions for the name of the city: Washington and Columbia, which is a historical and poetic name for the U.S. Columbia won the state senate vote 11 votes to 7.

Regular Blogs