Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Oregon » Corvallis

The Oregon city of Corvallis is the seat of Benton County. The first official land claims here were made by Joseph C. Avery in 1845, and the second was in 1846 by William Dixon. It was originally called Marysville but was renamed in 1853 using a combination of Latin words for “heart” and “valley” and meant to convey the idea of the area being in the heart of the valley. In 1847, Avery cordoned off 12 acres of his land and created town lots. Corvallis served as the capital of the Oregon Territory in 1855, until Salem was selected as the permanent capital of state government.

Regular Blogs