Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » North Carolina » Winston-Salem

Winston-Salem, North Carolina, is the seat of Forsyth County. In 1753, the settlement which would become Salem was begun by the Moravian Church, who called the town Bethabara. When it was incorporated, the town was called Salem, from the Hebrew word for peace, “shalom.”In 1849, the town of Winston was established and named in honor of a Revolutionary War hero from the area, Joseph Winston. In 1899, the US Post Office combined the two towns, and in 1913, the hyphen was added to the name.

Regular Blogs