Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » New York » New York

The city of New York, frequently called New York City or NYC, is situated on one of the world’s largest natural harbors. It is made up of five boroughs, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, and The Bronx, which were consolidated in 1898. It was founded as a trading post by Dutch colonists and named New Amsterdam in 1624. The British gained control in 1664 and named it in honor of the Duke of York, who was the brother of King Charles II.

Regular Blogs