Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Iowa

The state of Iowa was admitted into the Union on December 28, 1846, making it the 29th state. It became a territory as a result of the Black Hawk Purchase, which is also called the Forth-Mile Strip, which opened u the lands of Iowa. The official began officially in 1833. Prior to that time, there were perhaps 50 Americans who had settled in Iowa. Iowa chose to side with the Union in the War Between the States, having voted heavily for Republicans, though there were many Copperheads -- a name given to northern Democrats who opposed that war -- particularly among Catholics and settlers who migrated to Iowa from the south. No battles were fought in the state, though of the more than 75,000 men who served in the war, 13,001 died on the battlefields, either of war wounds or disease. By 1838, five years after the state began to solicit settlers, the population of Americans had risen from about 50 to 22,859, and by 1840, it had nearly doubled to 42,112. Immigrants from Norway arrived in 1840; from Sweden in 1845, and from Holland in 1847. The population was 192,214 in 1880. The largest group of immigrants was the Germans, followed by the Irish, British, and Canadians. In the mid 1800s, utopians arrived and started communistic colonies in Amana, Icaria, and New Buda. They held all property in common. Amana was a religious colony who lived by communist principles until 1932.



Iowa City

Regular Blogs