Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » New Hampshire » Merrimack

Merrimack, New Hampshire is located in Hillsborough County.  It was named for the Indian word which means sturgeon. It was originally part of the 1673 Dunstable grant, which which addressed 200 square miles, including what is now Nashua, Hudson, Hollis, Nashua, and Tyngsborough. In 1672, while the land was still under dispute between Massachusetts Bay Colony and the Province of New Hampshire, Captain Jonathan Tyng and several others felled the first tree in what was then called "Upper Merimac," which was the beginning of the settlement which was the township of Old Dunstable." The town is made up of four villages: Reeds Ferry, Thornton's Ferry Souhegan Village, and South Merrimack. In 1746, Colonial Governor Benning Wentworth signed a charger which established that the land which essentially encompassed Thornton's Ferry would become the Town of Merrimac. At that time, fewer than 50 families had settled there.

Regular Blogs