Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » New Hampshire » Hanover

The town of Hanover, New Hampshire is situated in Grafton County. It was chartered by Governor Wentworth on July 4, 1761.The first European settlers, most of them from Connecticut, arrived between 1765 and 1766 and established an agricultural community. In 1769, Dartmouth College was founded by Congregational minister Eleazar Wheelock. In 1777, the southwest corner of Hanover was renamed Dresden and the town joined with other towns along the Connecticut River, all of whom joined the independent Republic of Vermont. In fact, Dresden was the capital of that republic. At George Washington's urging, the towns, including Hanover, returned to New Hampshire. The Dresden School District still bears the town's former name.

Regular Blogs