Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Maryland » Annapolis

Annapolis, the seat of Anne Arundel County and capital of Maryland, served as the U.S. capital of the United States from 1783 to 1784. It was founded in the Province of Maryland and named Providence in 1649 by Puritans. It was renamed at some point to “Town at Proctor’s” and then “Town at the Severn.” Later still, it was named “Anne Arundel’s Towne,” in honor of Lord Baltimore’s wife.

Regular Blogs