Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Louisiana » Baton Rouge

The capital of the state of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, is situated in the East Baton Rouge Parish. The settlement there began when it was established as a French military post in 1719. Between 1719 and now, it has been governed by France, England, Spain, Louisiana, the Florida Republic, the Confederate States of America, and the United States. “Baton Rouge” means “red stick” in Enghish, and it was named after the red cypress pole which marked the boundary between two tribal hunting grounds.

Regular Blogs