Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Illinois » Springfield

The capital of the state of Illinois, Springfield, is the seat of Sangamon County. Having been settled in 1818, it was originally named Calhoun, in honor of South Carolina’s Senator John C. Calhoun. In 1832, Senator Calhoun had fallen out of favor, particularly with those in the North, and it was renamed Springfield in honor of the bustling city by the same name in Massachusetts.

Regular Blogs