Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Colorado » Durango

The City of Durango, generally known as Durango, is the county seat of La Plata County, Colorado. It was established by the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad in 1881 and is named in honor of the Mexican city of Durango which was in turn named in honor of Durango, Spain. The name is derived from the Basque word “urango” which means “water town.”

Regular Blogs