Aviva Blog Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » Colorado » Aurora

Aurora was founded in the 1880s as Fletcher, for Donald Fletcher, a Denver real estate investor who staked out the town. When Fletcher skipped town after the Silver Crash of 1893, leaving the new town in debt, residents voted to rename the town Aurora, after one of the town’s subdivisions. Today, Aurora is the third largest city in Colorado, by population, spanning Arapahoe, Adams, and Douglas counties. It is expected that Aurora will soon surpass Denver in population.

Regular Blogs